Bloom's Taxonomy

Bloom's Taxonomy is a classification of learning objectives within education. It refers to a classification of the different objectives that educators set for students.

It identifies three 'domains' of learning each of which is organised as a series of levels. It is suggested that one cannot effectively — or ought not try to — address higher levels until those below them have been covered.

The three domains are:

  1. cognitive
  2. affective
  3. psycho-motor

There's more information on the Learning and Teaching website, from which this text derives.

The document is a diagram of the skills path that learners follow when achieving their learning objectives.

Download materialPDF file: Bloom's Taxonomy Skills Path (180 KB)
Publisher Learning and Teaching Scotland (LTS)
TypeAdvice and information resource