What is being assessed?

Assessment is a way of supporting learning. It helps teachers, learners, parents and others to understand the depth and breadth of learning undertaken so that progress and next steps can be discussed and planned. 

There are 8 curricular areas (containing a range of subjects):


There are also three key areas which are covered by all teachers/practitioners:

Each curriculum area is broken down into a set of experiences and outcomes (often referred to as Es and Os.)

The Experience describes the learning

The Outcome represents what the learning will achieve.  This is often explained, from the pupil’s perspective as an ‘I can....’, ‘I am able to....’

Teachers will assess what children know, understand and are able to do within the experiences and outcomes. Teachers will assess each learner’s progress and achievements in:

  • Knowledge and understanding
  • Skills
  • Attributes and capabilities

More from Education Scotland

  • Assessment - Frequently-asked questions

    Answers to common questions about assessment in Curriculum for Excellence, including the different roles and responsibilities, children's reports, and the new curriculum levels.